Friday, January 30, 2009

...I've resolved to be less awkward (or at least take chances)

So I'm an awkward kid. I'm a dork with a small amount of filters. I mean, I'm a theater kid that goes to Jew camp. I'm no stranger to awkward.

But I always thought I had courage, at least. Said what I wanted to say.

So let me preface this story by telling you that I live in a VERY small town. Like a square mile. So everyone knows everyone. Like if someone cuts you off in the school parking lot, you can tell their mommy. But so I was in the local hub and this kid who's in college now walks in.

Now, my mother is convinced that someday this kid and I will get married. We've known each other as long as we've done theater, which is forever.

So he walks in and I don't get up or say hi or anything, because let me reiterate: I AM AN AWKWARD KID. At the moment he walks out, I think to myself, "I will never live this down."

So the next day his little brother throws a water bottle at my little sister, and says "That's for being [insert my name here]'s sister. And she's like "Why?" and the little brother goes "Because my brother's really upset that your sister didn't say hi to him yesterday."

So I'm making a frustrated noise, in case you couldn't tell.

Why is that my fault? He didn't say hi either! He's had a girlfriend for years, and he's a college kid, and suddenly I'M the awkward kid.

So not only am I awkward, but I attract awkward people. My mother just validated this.

So now I'm going to try not to be one of those people.

I'm completely prepared to utterly fail.

1 comment:

  1. yeah...you are wicked awkward!

    Thats why we love you....and in response to your next post.....SHES NOT FAT!!!!

    ReplyDelete